Snapdragon X2 Elite Extreme vs Intel Core Ultra 7 258V
device-bundled
·device-bundled
Intel Core Ultra 7 258V wins · 4–9 (7 drawn)
Agenticness — how well agents can access and operate the productAgenticness
How well agents can access and operate the product
Agent access
ai-native userPoint an agent at llms.txt or agent-oriented docs
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10Probes show no llms.txt (404), no docs-md, no OpenAPI spec, and the vendor page itself is unreadable to non-browser agents (JS-only shell). This is a hardware chip product, not a docs/API provider, but no agent-oriented documentation infrastructure exists.
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/llms.txt”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
A probe confirms Intel's site serves an llms.txt file (HTTP 200) with a short company description, so an agent could point at it, but the content is generic corporate boilerplate rather than product-specific or deeply agent-oriented documentation, and no OpenAPI/agent-friendly API docs were found. Missing for 10: product-specific llms.txt content, structured agent-facing docs beyond the generic snippet, and a working openapi.json.
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 200 at https://www.intel.com/llms.txt # Intel Corporation > Intel is a global technology company delivering AI compute…”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.intel.com/openapi.json, https://www.intel.com/swagger.json, https://www.intel.com/api/op…”
ai-native userRun the product headlessly / in CI for automation
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
ai-native userDrive the product through a documented public API
weight 3 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
ai-native userBuild against official SDKs
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VQualcomm's developer portal explicitly references official SDKs (AI Engine Direct SDK) and Qualcomm AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU on Snapdragon X-series chips, giving a genuine AI-native building surface. However, the evidence is a single high-level mention with no code samples, API references, or independent developer corroboration, and probes show no machine-readable docs (llms.txt, openapi) or accessible spec pages without a browser. Missing for 10: detailed SDK documentation/examples, independent developer reports of building against these SDKs, and machine-readable API references.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/llms.txt”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
Intel documents official developer SDKs/tools for this chip family—oneAPI, oneDNN, PyTorch optimizations, VTune Profiler, and SYCL interoperability—that let AI-native developers build and optimize LLM/image-gen workloads on Core Ultra processors and Arc GPUs. However, evidence is limited to vendor product pages with no code samples, API references, or independent developer corroboration of hands-on SDK usage. Missing for 10: linked SDK documentation/quickstarts, independent developer reports of building against these SDKs, and details on NPU-specific developer APIs beyond marketing copy.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
- [claimed-docs] “Achieve real-time processing and display on a broader array of imaging formats through enhanced SYCL\* interoperability with Vulkan\* and Mi…”
Agentic features
ai-native userOperate the product with natural-language commands
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
The chip's marketing highlights Copilot+ voice-command features ('Say it and Copilot+ helps do it... Use voice commands to get answers, edit content, and turn ideas into reality'), suggesting natural-language operation is enabled at the platform level. However, this is a vendor claim tied to the broader Copilot+ PC ecosystem rather than a documented, hands-on demonstration of the processor itself enabling NL command execution. Missing for 10: independent verification of voice/NL command reliability, technical detail on how the chip enables this beyond marketing copy, and broader agentic command scope beyond voice assistant tasks.
- [claimed-docs] “Say it and Copilot+ helps do it... Use voice commands to get answers, edit content, and turn ideas into reality.”
Compute performance — stories about compute performance in this arenaCompute performance
Stories about compute performance in this arena
Heavy compute
developerCompile big codebases and run heavy parallel jobs fast — documented core counts and boost behavior, corroborated by independent multi-core benchmarks
weight 3 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeCore counts (18-core, 12 Prime + 6 Performance) and boost clocks (up to 5.0GHz Extreme) are documented on Qualcomm's vendor spec page, giving developers concrete compute specs. However, since the chip is unreleased (PCs ship 2026), there are no independent multi-core benchmarks corroborating real-world compiling/parallel-job performance — only unrelated community remarks about the prior-gen X1 Plus and touchpad design. missing for 10: independent multi-core/compile benchmarks, hands-on developer performance reports, TDP/power figures needed to contextualize boost sustainability.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel Core Ultra 7 258Vnone0/10The evidence pack contains only marketing copy about gaming, creative apps, and AI features plus generic developer-tool blurbs (oneDNN, VTune) — nothing documents core/thread counts, boost clocks, or independent multi-core compilation/parallel-job benchmarks for the 258V. missing for 10: documented core/thread counts and boost clock specs, independent multi-core benchmark results (e.g. Cinebench, compile-time tests), any developer-reported build performance data.
Single thread
power-userEveryday interactive work feels instant — leading single-thread performance shown in independent benchmarks, not just a peak-GHz number on a slide
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No independent single-thread benchmarks are present anywhere in the evidence pack; all performance claims are vendor peak-GHz/TOPS figures from a spec page, and the chip hasn't even shipped yet (2026 launch), so third-party validation is impossible at this time. Community comments only cover battery/touchpad, not single-thread performance.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel Core Ultra 7 258Vnone0/10The evidence pack contains only Intel marketing copy about GPU, AI, and battery features with no independent single-thread benchmark data (e.g., Cinebench single-core, Geekbench) to support the specific claim of leading interactive single-thread performance. Missing for 10: independent benchmark results, single-thread performance comparisons, third-party reviews validating responsiveness.
Dev experience — day-to-day developer experience — setup friction, docs, debugging, iteration speedDev experience
Day-to-day developer experience — setup friction, docs, debugging, iteration speed
Toolchain
developerThis architecture is a first-class development target — mature compilers, official optimization guidance, and an OS and tooling ecosystem that treats it as tier one
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VQualcomm's developer portal documents Arm-native Windows toolchains, an AI Engine Direct SDK and AI Hub for the Hexagon NPU, showing some official dev-tooling investment, and one community report praises legacy software compatibility on a prior-gen Snapdragon laptop. But there's no evidence of compiler maturity specifics, no independent corroboration that Windows-on-Arm is treated as a tier-one target by the broader toolchain ecosystem (e.g. major compilers, cross-platform SDKs), and the chip itself hasn't shipped yet (2026 availability). missing for 10: independent evidence of mature/optimized compiler support, third-party tooling parity confirmation, hands-on developer experience reports on the actual X2 Elite hardware.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel provides official developer tooling (oneAPI, oneDNN, VTune Profiler, PyTorch optimizations, SYCL interoperability) targeting Core Ultra CPUs/GPUs/NPUs, showing real optimization guidance and tooling investment for this architecture. However, evidence is entirely vendor-sourced with no independent corroboration of compiler maturity, OS-level tier-one treatment, or broader ecosystem support (e.g., GCC/LLVM upstream status, Linux kernel support specifics). Missing for 10: independent/third-party confirmation of compiler maturity, explicit OS tier-one support statements, and broader ecosystem tooling beyond Intel's own oneAPI suite.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
- [claimed-docs] “Achieve real-time processing and display on a broader array of imaging formats through enhanced SYCL\* interoperability with Vulkan\* and Mi…”
Virtualization
developerVMs and containers run well on this silicon — documented virtualization support and mainstream hypervisor and Docker workflows
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No evidence addresses virtualization support, hypervisor compatibility, or Docker/container workflows on Snapdragon X2 Elite Extreme silicon; developer materials cited only cover Windows-on-Arm native toolchains and NPU SDKs, not VM/container tooling. This is a fair axis for developer silicon, so absence of any supporting evidence yields none, not na.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Gaming media — stories about gaming media in this arenaGaming media
Stories about gaming media in this arena
Gaming fps
gamerThis chip drives high frame rates in real games — vendor gaming claims (cache, boost behavior, integrated GPU class) corroborated by independent game benchmarks
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No GPU specifications, gaming performance claims, or independent game benchmarks appear anywhere in the evidence pack — the vendor page only covers CPU core count/boost clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, with no mention of integrated GPU class or gaming behavior. The one community comment (about the prior-gen X1 Plus) even suggests gaming is a weak point ('best version of Windows if you don't game'), and the product hasn't shipped yet so no independent game benchmarks exist. Missing for 10: GPU/Adreno specs, vendor gaming performance claims, and any independent game benchmark data.
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Vendor docs claim Arc graphics, XeSS 3 upscaling, and 'ultra-smooth FPS' for gaming, and list compatibility with major game stores, but there is no independent game benchmark data in the evidence pack to corroborate real-world frame rates or the iGPU class claims. missing for 10: independent/hands-on FPS benchmarks in real games, cache/boost behavior verification, comparative iGPU-class positioning against competitors.
- [claimed-docs] “More GPU performance from Intel® Arc™ graphics and AI-enhanced gameplay with Intel® XeSS 3 give you ultra-smooth FPS on the go.”
- [claimed-docs] “Play, stream, and edit, all at once. Intel Xe Media Engine delivers sharp, high-def video without compromising game graphics.”
- [claimed-docs] “Load up thousands of AAA and indie titles for a full gaming experience across Steam, Epic, Battle.net, and Xbox Game Pass.”
Media engines
creatorHardware media engines carry my editing and streaming — documented hardware encode and decode (AV1, HEVC, ProRes-class) on the chip itself
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The evidence pack covers CPU cores/clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, but contains no mention of media/video engines, hardware AV1/HEVC encode-decode, or ProRes-class support anywhere in the vendor docs or community commentary. missing for 10: any documented hardware video encode/decode engine specs, codec support list (AV1/HEVC/ProRes), or streaming/editing performance claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Docs confirm a dedicated Intel Xe Media Engine enabling simultaneous play/stream/edit with high-def video, but no specifics on codec support (AV1, HEVC, ProRes-class) or their encode/decode capabilities are documented. missing for 10: explicit codec support list (AV1/HEVC/ProRes), encode/decode performance specs, independent benchmarks.
- [claimed-docs] “Play, stream, and edit, all at once. Intel Xe Media Engine delivers sharp, high-def video without compromising game graphics.”
- [claimed-docs] “Tackle 3D models, long edits, and heavy exports with Intel® Arc™ graphics, even unplugged and on-the-go.”
Local ai — stories about local ai in this arenaLocal ai
Stories about local ai in this arena
Npu sdk
ai-native userThe chip's AI acceleration is exposed to developers — an NPU or neural engine with a published TOPS figure (precision stated) and an official SDK or runtime that ships today
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VQualcomm publishes an NPU TOPS figure (85 TOPS) and points to an AI Engine Direct SDK / AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU, but the precision for the TOPS figure is explicitly not stated, and the X2 Elite Extreme chip itself has not shipped (announced Sept 2025, PCs due 2026), so the 'ships today' condition is unmet for this specific chip. missing for 10: precision spec for the TOPS number, evidence the SDK/runtime targets this specific chip today rather than prior-gen Snapdragon X, and independent developer corroboration of SDK functionality.
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Evidence confirms a dedicated NPU ('low-power AI engines') and an official developer runtime/SDK path (oneAPI, oneDNN, PyTorch optimizations, VTune NPU profiling support) that ships today, satisfying the SDK/runtime part of the story. However, no citation states a published TOPS figure or specifies the precision (e.g., INT8) for the NPU, which is a core requirement of the story. Missing for 10: published TOPS number, stated precision, and independent corroboration of the NPU spec.
- [claimed-docs] “Dedicated low-power AI engines and intelligent power management drive smart performance, even when you leave the charger behind.”
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
Runtime support
developerMainstream local-AI runtimes target this silicon — llama.cpp, MLX, ONNX Runtime, or the vendor's own AI software stack document support for its CPU, GPU, or NPU
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VQualcomm's own developer portal documents AI Engine Direct SDK and Qualcomm AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU on Snapdragon X-series chips, showing vendor-stack support, but there is no evidence that mainstream runtimes like llama.cpp, MLX, or ONNX Runtime explicitly document support for this specific new silicon (X2 Elite Extreme), and the product hasn't shipped yet (2026). missing for 10: explicit llama.cpp/MLX/ONNX Runtime support statements for X2 Elite Extreme, independent hands-on confirmation of NPU/GPU acceleration, and evidence the AI Hub tooling actually targets this exact chip post-launch.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
Intel's own oneAPI/oneDNN and PyTorch optimizations explicitly target Core Ultra Series 2 CPUs and Arc GPUs, and VTune profiler supports GPU/NPU analysis, showing vendor-stack support. However, there's no evidence of llama.cpp, MLX, or ONNX Runtime explicitly documenting support for this chip's CPU/GPU/NPU. Missing for 10: llama.cpp/ONNX Runtime/MLX documentation citing this exact silicon, NPU-specific runtime support evidence, independent benchmarks confirming real-world local-AI usage.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
Memory io — stories about memory io in this arenaMemory io
Stories about memory io in this arena
Llm memory
ai-native userRun a large local LLM (70B-class, quantized) on this platform — enough addressable memory and published memory bandwidth to make local inference practical
weight 3 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeQualcomm publishes memory bandwidth (228 GB/s LPDDR5x) and an NPU TOPS figure, and points to an AI Hub/AI Engine Direct SDK for on-device model deployment, but the same spec page explicitly does not publish a max memory capacity figure, which is the critical constraint for whether a 70B-class quantized model can even fit in addressable memory. The product also hasn't shipped yet (2026 laptops), so no hands-on inference benchmarks exist to confirm practicality. Missing for 10: published max RAM capacity/config options, real-world 70B quantized inference benchmarks, independent corroboration of bandwidth/capacity claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel Core Ultra 7 258Vnone0/10The evidence pack contains only generic Copilot+/AI-PC marketing and developer-tool blurbs (oneDNN, VTune, SYCL) with no published memory capacity, memory bandwidth, or any claim about running 70B-class quantized LLMs locally. Nothing addresses addressable memory size or bandwidth needed to judge local large-model feasibility.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Dedicated low-power AI engines and intelligent power management drive smart performance, even when you leave the charger behind.”
Memory spec
developerSize memory-bound workloads from the vendor's own numbers — published memory type, capacity ceiling, and bandwidth (or spec detail complete enough to derive it)
weight 2 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeVendor publishes memory type (LPDDR5x) and bandwidth (up to 228 GB/s), letting a developer estimate bandwidth-bound workload sizing, but explicitly does not publish a max memory capacity figure, so capacity ceiling must be sourced elsewhere. missing for 10: published max memory capacity, machine-readable spec access (page requires JS rendering, no llms.txt/API).
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
Platform upgrade — stories about platform upgrade in this arenaPlatform upgrade
Stories about platform upgrade in this arena
Platform io
developerThe platform has documented I/O headroom — PCIe generation and lanes, fast storage, and external connectivity specs I can plan a build or dock setup around
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The evidence pack covers CPU cores/clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, but contains no mention whatsoever of PCIe generation/lanes, storage interface specs, or external connectivity (USB/Thunderbolt/display outputs) — the exact I/O headroom details the story asks for. The vendor spec page is even noted to be unreadable by non-browser fetchers, and the recorded 'gap' item only calls out missing TDP/process node/max-memory, not I/O specs at all.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
Intel Core Ultra 7 258Vnone0/10The evidence pack contains only marketing copy about graphics, AI features, and gaming/creative use cases; there is no documentation of PCIe generation/lane counts, storage interface specs, or external connectivity (Thunderbolt/USB) details a developer could use to plan a build or dock setup.
Socket longevity
power-userUpgrade the CPU without replacing the platform — a documented socket with a stated multi-generation support commitment
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
Power efficiency — stories about power efficiency in this arenaPower efficiency
Stories about power efficiency in this arena
Mobile endurance
power-userThis chip powers thin, quiet, all-day-battery machines — shipping in fanless or low-power designs with credible battery-life evidence
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 7 258VSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No TDP/power envelope is published for the X2 Elite Extreme, no fanless-design OEM commitments are cited, and the chip has not yet shipped in any laptop (PCs due 2026), so there is no battery-life or thermal evidence for this specific product; the only battery-life praise in evidence is about the prior-gen X1 Plus, not this chip.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
Intel's marketing copy gestures at all-day, unplugged use and low-power AI engines/power management, implying efficiency for thin-and-light designs, but there are no concrete battery-life hour claims, no mention of fanless designs, and no independent hands-on corroboration in the pack. Missing for 10: fanless/thin-chassis design examples, specific battery-life hour figures, independent reviewer benchmarks confirming all-day battery claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Tackle 3D models, long edits, and heavy exports with Intel® Arc™ graphics, even unplugged and on-the-go.”
- [claimed-docs] “Dedicated low-power AI engines and intelligent power management drive smart performance, even when you leave the charger behind.”
- [claimed-docs] “Crystal-clear Bluetooth™ 6 lets you walk away further than ever. Trusted to run like no other.”
Perf per watt
creatorLong renders and exports don't throttle away — documented power envelopes and independent testing showing strong sustained performance per watt
weight 3 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10Qualcomm's own spec page explicitly does not publish a TDP/power envelope (left to OEMs), and the chip hasn't shipped yet (2026), so there is no independent sustained-performance/watt testing available; community evidence is limited to prior-gen (X1) impressions, not this chip.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel Core Ultra 7 258Vnone0/10Evidence is limited to Intel marketing copy about creating/rendering and vague claims of 'intelligent power management' with no documented power envelope specs (TDP curves, sustained wattage) or any independent/third-party testing of sustained performance-per-watt during long renders or exports; missing for 10: documented power envelope tables, independent benchmark/testing showing sustained throughput under load without throttling.
- [claimed-docs] “Tackle 3D models, long edits, and heavy exports with Intel® Arc™ graphics, even unplugged and on-the-go.”
- [claimed-docs] “Dedicated low-power AI engines and intelligent power management drive smart performance, even when you leave the charger behind.”
Spec transparency — stories about spec transparency in this arenaSpec transparency
Stories about spec transparency in this arena
Spec disclosure
power-userComparison-shop from a real spec sheet — the vendor publishes clocks, power, memory support, and AI TOPS with test conditions, instead of marketing adjectives
weight 2 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeQualcomm publishes some concrete numbers (core counts, boost clocks, NPU TOPS, memory bandwidth) but the story asks for a full transparent spec sheet with test conditions, and the vendor page omits TDP/power envelope, process node, max memory capacity, and doesn't state precision/conditions for the 85 TOPS figure. Missing for 10: TDP/power figures, process node, max memory capacity, stated test conditions/precision for TOPS and clock claims, and independent verification of any of these numbers.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel Core Ultra 7 258Vnone0/10All evidence entries are marketing-style feature blurbs (gaming, AI apps, voice commands, Bluetooth) rather than an actual spec sheet listing clocks, TDP/power, memory support, or AI TOPS with test conditions; no technical spec table or footnoted benchmark methodology is present in the pack.
- [claimed-docs] “Tackle 3D models, long edits, and heavy exports with Intel® Arc™ graphics, even unplugged and on-the-go.”
- [claimed-docs] “Say it and Copilot+ helps do it... Use voice commands to get answers, edit content, and turn ideas into reality.”
- [claimed-docs] “Dedicated low-power AI engines and intelligent power management drive smart performance, even when you leave the charger behind.”
- [claimed-docs] “Crystal-clear Bluetooth™ 6 lets you walk away further than ever. Trusted to run like no other.”
Not comparable on these axes
ai-native userPlug MCP servers into this product so it can use their tools
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chipset product (CPU/NPU silicon), not a software agent or platform with an MCP client/server role; plugging MCP servers into it is a category error for a chip.
ai-native userConnect an agent via an official MCP server
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not an agent/software product that could plug into or serve an MCP server; this axis is a category error for a silicon SoC.
ai-native userUse an official CLI
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip/SoC product, not a software tool or platform that would ship an official CLI; the 'AI-native CLI' axis is a category error for a silicon product.
ai-native userIssue scoped/least-privilege API credentials for an agent
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip product, not a service or platform issuing API credentials for agents; scoped API credential management is not a fair axis for a CPU/NPU chip.
ai-native userSubscribe to events via webhooks
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (SoC); webhook event subscriptions are a software/service API concept that does not apply to a physical processor product category.
ai-native userGet AI-generated insights and suggestions from my data inside the product
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a chip/SoC platform, not an end-user application that holds 'my data' and surfaces insights; it only provides underlying NPU compute (TOPS) that OEM software might later use. This is a category error — the axis applies to data-centric software products, not silicon platforms.
ai-native userSet up automations that run autonomously in the background
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip platform, not a software/agent product; setting up autonomous background automations is a software application-layer capability outside the scope of a CPU/NPU silicon product's evidence pack.
ai-native userDelegate tasks to a built-in AI assistant inside the product
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a chipset/silicon platform, not a software product with a built-in AI assistant UI; it provides NPU hardware and SDKs for OEMs/developers to build AI features on top, but delegating tasks to an assistant is a wrong-axis question for a chip.
ai-native userExplore an interactive API reference with runnable examples
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (SoC), not an API/SDK service; an interactive API reference with runnable examples is a category error for a physical processor's product page — the axis does not apply.
ai-native userDownload a machine-readable API spec (OpenAPI or equivalent)
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip product, not a web service or SaaS platform — there is no product API surface for which an OpenAPI/machine-readable spec would be a meaningful deliverable. The probes confirming no openapi.json exist are consistent with this being a wrong axis for a hardware product rather than a missing capability.
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
ai-native userTest against a sandbox environment without touching production data
weight 1 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (CPU/NPU silicon); sandbox testing environments for AI agents are a software/platform concern, not applicable to a chipset's evidence pack.
ai-native userRely on versioned APIs with a documented deprecation policy
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10While Qualcomm offers developer SDKs (AI Engine Direct SDK, AI Hub) that could in principle have API versioning policies, no evidence in the pack shows any versioned API, changelog, or deprecation policy documentation; probes for OpenAPI specs and machine-readable docs all 404.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
ai-native userPerform bulk operations across many items at once
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not a software/automation tool; 'bulk operations across many items' is a software/workflow capability axis that doesn't apply to a CPU/NPU product itself.
ai-native userDefine rules that trigger actions automatically on events
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip platform, not an automation or workflow-rules product; defining event-triggered automation rules is a software/platform application-layer concern, not something a CPU/NPU chip itself provides.
ai-native userSchedule recurring jobs or workflows
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip (SoC) product, not a software platform or automation tool; scheduling recurring jobs/workflows is a software application capability entirely outside the scope of a chipset's evidence pack.
ai-native userVersion, review, and roll back my automations
weight 1 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not an automation/workflow platform; versioning, reviewing, and rolling back automations is a category error for this product type.
ai-native userDo everything through the API that I can do in the UI
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a physical hardware chip product, not a software/UI application with an API/UI parity concept — the axis is a category error for a CPU/NPU silicon product.
ai-native userExport all of my data in open formats and leave
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip (SoC) product, not a data-holding service or application; there is no user data or account to export in open formats. Data export/portability is a category error for a CPU/NPU component.
ai-native userRead the product's source under an open license
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a proprietary hardware chip product; source-code openness is a category error for a physical silicon SoC, not an applicable axis.
ai-native userSelf-host the core product
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a physical CPU/NPU chip sold to OEMs for laptops, not a hosted service or software product that could be 'self-hosted'; self-hosting is a category error for a silicon product.
ai-native userChoose where my data is stored (region/residency)
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip (CPU/NPU) for laptops, not a cloud/data-hosting service; data residency/region storage choice is not an applicable axis for a silicon product.
ai-native userPrevent my data from being used to train AI models
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip/SoC, not a service or platform that trains AI models on user data; a data-training opt-out policy is a category error for this product type.
ai-native userControl data retention and deletion
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset (CPU/NPU platform), not a data service or application that retains user data; data retention/deletion controls are a software/SaaS privacy axis, not applicable to a silicon product.
ai-native userOpt out of telemetry and usage tracking
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chipset product (SoC), not a software/service with telemetry or usage-tracking settings; opt-out of telemetry is a category error for a silicon platform spec.