Snapdragon X2 Elite Extreme vs AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 wins · 2–11 (8 drawn)
Agenticness — how well agents can access and operate the productAgenticness
How well agents can access and operate the product
Agent access
ai-native userPoint an agent at llms.txt or agent-oriented docs
weight 2 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Snapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10Probes show no llms.txt (404), no docs-md, no OpenAPI spec, and the vendor page itself is unreadable to non-browser agents (JS-only shell). This is a hardware chip product, not a docs/API provider, but no agent-oriented documentation infrastructure exists.
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/llms.txt”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
A direct probe confirms that AMD's Ryzen AI developer docs serve a working llms.txt file (HTTP 200 with structured content) at ryzenai.docs.amd.com, which an AI agent could be pointed at directly. Missing for 10: broader agent-oriented documentation structure beyond the single llms.txt file, and independent/community confirmation of agents actually using it.
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 200 at https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/llms.txt # Ryzen AI Software > Note: ROCm documentation is split across multiple p…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): the Ryzen AI Software documentation at ryzenai.docs.amd.com answered a keyless curl naming Ryzen AI — t…”
ai-native userRun the product headlessly / in CI for automation
weight 2 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Snapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
The Ryzen AI software stack supports headless Linux server OSes (Ubuntu, RHEL) and exposes CLI/API-driven inference via ONNX Runtime (C++/Python APIs) and the Lemonade SDK for llama.cpp/OGA, which are automatable without a GUI. However, there is no explicit documentation of CI pipelines, containerized/Docker deployment, or automated build/test workflows for this hardware. Missing for 10: explicit CI/automation examples, containerization support, and independent confirmation of headless scripted runs.
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [claimed-docs] “Windows 11 - 64-Bit Edition , RHEL x86 64-Bit , Ubuntu x86 64-Bit”
ai-native userDrive the product through a documented public API
weight 3 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Snapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
AMD documents software-level APIs (ONNX Runtime C++/Python APIs, Vitis AI EP, Lemonade SDK) for driving AI workloads on the NPU, but there is no public REST/OpenAPI-style programmatic interface for 'driving the product' as an agentic system — probes for OpenAPI/swagger specs all 404. missing for 10: a documented public REST/agent-facing API or SDK entry point beyond ML framework runtimes, independent confirmation of API usage for agentic control.
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/openapi.json, https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/swagger.json, https://ryzena…”
ai-native userBuild against official SDKs
weight 2 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Qualcomm's developer portal explicitly references official SDKs (AI Engine Direct SDK) and Qualcomm AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU on Snapdragon X-series chips, giving a genuine AI-native building surface. However, the evidence is a single high-level mention with no code samples, API references, or independent developer corroboration, and probes show no machine-readable docs (llms.txt, openapi) or accessible spec pages without a browser. Missing for 10: detailed SDK documentation/examples, independent developer reports of building against these SDKs, and machine-readable API references.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/llms.txt”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
AMD provides official Ryzen AI SDK docs covering ONNX Runtime with C++/Python APIs, the Vitis AI EP, AMD Quark quantization toolkit, and the Lemonade SDK for LLMs, all live and crawlable at ryzenai.docs.amd.com, giving AI-native developers concrete official SDKs to build against. Missing for 10: independent hands-on developer reports validating SDK usability/completeness, and no OpenAPI/formal API reference confirmed (probe found 404s for openapi endpoints).
- [claimed-docs] “This allows developers to build and deploy models trained in PyTorch or TensorFlow and run them directly on laptops powered by Ryzen AI usin…”
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Quark is a comprehensive cross-platform deep learning toolkit designed to simplify and enhance the quantization of deep learning models.”
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 200 at https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/llms.txt # Ryzen AI Software > Note: ROCm documentation is split across multiple p…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): the Ryzen AI Software documentation at ryzenai.docs.amd.com answered a keyless curl naming Ryzen AI — t…”
Agentic features
ai-native userOperate the product with natural-language commands
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
Api quality
ai-native userRely on versioned APIs with a documented deprecation policy
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10While Qualcomm offers developer SDKs (AI Engine Direct SDK, AI Hub) that could in principle have API versioning policies, no evidence in the pack shows any versioned API, changelog, or deprecation policy documentation; probes for OpenAPI specs and machine-readable docs all 404.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10Evidence shows the Ryzen AI software stack exposes C++/Python APIs via ONNX Runtime and mentions SDKs like Quark and Lemonade, but nothing documents API versioning practices or a deprecation policy for these interfaces. Missing for 10: any versioning scheme, changelog, or explicit deprecation/EOL policy for the Ryzen AI APIs.
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/openapi.json, https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/swagger.json, https://ryzena…”
Compute performance — stories about compute performance in this arenaCompute performance
Stories about compute performance in this arena
Heavy compute
developerCompile big codebases and run heavy parallel jobs fast — documented core counts and boost behavior, corroborated by independent multi-core benchmarks
weight 3 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeCore counts (18-core, 12 Prime + 6 Performance) and boost clocks (up to 5.0GHz Extreme) are documented on Qualcomm's vendor spec page, giving developers concrete compute specs. However, since the chip is unreleased (PCs ship 2026), there are no independent multi-core benchmarks corroborating real-world compiling/parallel-job performance — only unrelated community remarks about the prior-gen X1 Plus and touchpad design. missing for 10: independent multi-core/compile benchmarks, hands-on developer performance reports, TDP/power figures needed to contextualize boost sustainability.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10No evidence pack item documents core counts, boost clock behavior, or independent multi-core/compile benchmarks; the AMD docs and product page instead focus on AI/NPU software stack, TDP, and I/O specs. Community comments (comm-2) even push back on judging this chip by CPU-only benchmarks, but no concrete multi-core compile benchmark or core/boost spec is cited either way.
Single thread
power-userEveryday interactive work feels instant — leading single-thread performance shown in independent benchmarks, not just a peak-GHz number on a slide
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No independent single-thread benchmarks are present anywhere in the evidence pack; all performance claims are vendor peak-GHz/TOPS figures from a spec page, and the chip hasn't even shipped yet (2026 launch), so third-party validation is impossible at this time. Community comments only cover battery/touchpad, not single-thread performance.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10No independent single-thread CPU benchmark data appears anywhere in the evidence pack; the only performance-related community comments concern GPU/LLM token throughput and memory bandwidth, and one explicitly notes the CPU is not the reason to choose this part ('If you're just going to use the CPU obviously the 395 is not what you want'). There's no vendor or third-party single-thread benchmark citation to support the story.
- [community] “Terrible benchmarks. They should probably compare the 395 GPU against the 9950 CPU or against a 7600/9060. If you're just going to use the C…”
- [community] “Own a framework desktop 128gb. GPU bandwidth limits the amount of tokens/sec that you get. I've mostly been running QWEN-3.6-35B-A3B at Q8 a…”
- [community] “With 128 GB of unified memory, large models can fit into memory, but memory bandwidth quickly becomes the limiting factor. With long context…”
Dev experience — day-to-day developer experience — setup friction, docs, debugging, iteration speedDev experience
Day-to-day developer experience — setup friction, docs, debugging, iteration speed
Toolchain
developerThis architecture is a first-class development target — mature compilers, official optimization guidance, and an OS and tooling ecosystem that treats it as tier one
weight 3 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Qualcomm's developer portal documents Arm-native Windows toolchains, an AI Engine Direct SDK and AI Hub for the Hexagon NPU, showing some official dev-tooling investment, and one community report praises legacy software compatibility on a prior-gen Snapdragon laptop. But there's no evidence of compiler maturity specifics, no independent corroboration that Windows-on-Arm is treated as a tier-one target by the broader toolchain ecosystem (e.g. major compilers, cross-platform SDKs), and the chip itself hasn't shipped yet (2026 availability). missing for 10: independent evidence of mature/optimized compiler support, third-party tooling parity confirmation, hands-on developer experience reports on the actual X2 Elite hardware.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
AMD provides official Ryzen AI docs, ONNX Runtime + Vitis AI EP, the Quark quantization toolkit, and the Lemonade SDK, plus OS support for Windows 11, RHEL, and Ubuntu, indicating a real first-party tooling stack. However, community reports show developers relying on third-party runtimes (llama.cpp/Vulkan, Ollama) rather than a mature native compiler/optimization path, and cite memory-bandwidth bottlenecks and confusing benchmarks/naming as friction points, suggesting the ecosystem is still maturing rather than unambiguously tier-one. Missing for 10: evidence of mature first-party compiler toolchains, independent benchmarks confirming optimization guidance efficacy, and confirmation that NPU/GPU stack is treated as tier-one by major ML frameworks beyond ONNX.
- [claimed-docs] “This allows developers to build and deploy models trained in PyTorch or TensorFlow and run them directly on laptops powered by Ryzen AI usin…”
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Quark is a comprehensive cross-platform deep learning toolkit designed to simplify and enhance the quantization of deep learning models.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [claimed-docs] “Windows 11 - 64-Bit Edition , RHEL x86 64-Bit , Ubuntu x86 64-Bit”
- [community] “Own a framework desktop 128gb. GPU bandwidth limits the amount of tokens/sec that you get. I've mostly been running QWEN-3.6-35B-A3B at Q8 a…”
- [community] “I'm running qwen3.6, gpt-oss and embeddinggemma with Ollama on Ryzen 7 8700G + 96 GB DDR5 with 12-14 tokens/sec... On Strix Halo it will run…”
- [community] “With 128 GB of unified memory, large models can fit into memory, but memory bandwidth quickly becomes the limiting factor. With long context…”
Virtualization
developerVMs and containers run well on this silicon — documented virtualization support and mainstream hypervisor and Docker workflows
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No evidence addresses virtualization support, hypervisor compatibility, or Docker/container workflows on Snapdragon X2 Elite Extreme silicon; developer materials cited only cover Windows-on-Arm native toolchains and NPU SDKs, not VM/container tooling. This is a fair axis for developer silicon, so absence of any supporting evidence yields none, not na.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence pack lists supported OSes (Windows 11, RHEL, Ubuntu) but contains no documentation of virtualization features (SVM/AMD-V, IOMMU), hypervisor compatibility (KVM/Hyper-V/VMware), or Docker/container workflows on this chip. Virtualization support is a fair question for a CPU/SoC but no evidence confirms it here.
- [claimed-docs] “Windows 11 - 64-Bit Edition , RHEL x86 64-Bit , Ubuntu x86 64-Bit”
Gaming media — stories about gaming media in this arenaGaming media
Stories about gaming media in this arena
Gaming fps
gamerThis chip drives high frame rates in real games — vendor gaming claims (cache, boost behavior, integrated GPU class) corroborated by independent game benchmarks
weight 3 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No GPU specifications, gaming performance claims, or independent game benchmarks appear anywhere in the evidence pack — the vendor page only covers CPU core count/boost clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, with no mention of integrated GPU class or gaming behavior. The one community comment (about the prior-gen X1 Plus) even suggests gaming is a weak point ('best version of Windows if you don't game'), and the product hasn't shipped yet so no independent game benchmarks exist. Missing for 10: GPU/Adreno specs, vendor gaming performance claims, and any independent game benchmark data.
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence pack contains no vendor gaming claims (cache/boost/iGPU class positioning) and no independent game benchmark data or FPS figures; community comments are about AI/LLM token throughput and general benchmark methodology complaints, not real-game performance.
- [community] “Terrible benchmarks. They should probably compare the 395 GPU against the 9950 CPU or against a 7600/9060. If you're just going to use the C…”
- [community] “It would have been interesting to see the graphics performance and AI performance of the 395 compared to discrete gpus... how does it stack …”
Media engines
creatorHardware media engines carry my editing and streaming — documented hardware encode and decode (AV1, HEVC, ProRes-class) on the chip itself
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The evidence pack covers CPU cores/clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, but contains no mention of media/video engines, hardware AV1/HEVC encode-decode, or ProRes-class support anywhere in the vendor docs or community commentary. missing for 10: any documented hardware video encode/decode engine specs, codec support list (AV1/HEVC/ProRes), or streaming/editing performance claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10Evidence pack contains no documentation of hardware media/video encode-decode engines (AV1, HEVC, ProRes-class) on this chip; all citations focus on AI/NPU software stack, CPU/GPU specs, TDP, and community discussion of LLM performance. Missing for 10: any mention of media/video codec engine, encode/decode capability, or streaming/editing hardware acceleration documentation.
Local ai — stories about local ai in this arenaLocal ai
Stories about local ai in this arena
Npu sdk
ai-native userThe chip's AI acceleration is exposed to developers — an NPU or neural engine with a published TOPS figure (precision stated) and an official SDK or runtime that ships today
weight 3 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Qualcomm publishes an NPU TOPS figure (85 TOPS) and points to an AI Engine Direct SDK / AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU, but the precision for the TOPS figure is explicitly not stated, and the X2 Elite Extreme chip itself has not shipped (announced Sept 2025, PCs due 2026), so the 'ships today' condition is unmet for this specific chip. missing for 10: precision spec for the TOPS number, evidence the SDK/runtime targets this specific chip today rather than prior-gen Snapdragon X, and independent developer corroboration of SDK functionality.
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Strong evidence of an official, shipping SDK/runtime stack (Ryzen AI Software docs, ONNX Runtime + Vitis AI Execution Provider, AMD Quark quantization toolkit, Lemonade SDK for LLMs) confirming real developer-facing NPU acceleration tooling. However, the evidence pack contains no published TOPS figure or precision spec for the NPU itself, which the story explicitly requires. Missing for 10: a documented TOPS number with precision (e.g., INT8/INT4) for the XDNA2 NPU, and independent benchmark corroboration of that figure.
- [claimed-docs] “This allows developers to build and deploy models trained in PyTorch or TensorFlow and run them directly on laptops powered by Ryzen AI usin…”
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Quark is a comprehensive cross-platform deep learning toolkit designed to simplify and enhance the quantization of deep learning models.”
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): the Ryzen AI Software documentation at ryzenai.docs.amd.com answered a keyless curl naming Ryzen AI — t…”
Runtime support
developerMainstream local-AI runtimes target this silicon — llama.cpp, MLX, ONNX Runtime, or the vendor's own AI software stack document support for its CPU, GPU, or NPU
weight 2 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Qualcomm's own developer portal documents AI Engine Direct SDK and Qualcomm AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU on Snapdragon X-series chips, showing vendor-stack support, but there is no evidence that mainstream runtimes like llama.cpp, MLX, or ONNX Runtime explicitly document support for this specific new silicon (X2 Elite Extreme), and the product hasn't shipped yet (2026). missing for 10: explicit llama.cpp/MLX/ONNX Runtime support statements for X2 Elite Extreme, independent hands-on confirmation of NPU/GPU acceleration, and evidence the AI Hub tooling actually targets this exact chip post-launch.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
AMD's own Ryzen AI docs confirm ONNX Runtime with Vitis AI Execution Provider support, and explicitly mention the Lemonade SDK enabling llama.cpp on this platform; community hands-on reports independently confirm llama.cpp (Vulkan) and Ollama running well on Strix Halo silicon. missing for 10: explicit MLX support (Apple-specific, not applicable here but leaves a gap in the story's named runtimes), and clearer first-party NPU-specific runtime benchmarks beyond GPU/CPU token-rate anecdotes.
- [claimed-docs] “This allows developers to build and deploy models trained in PyTorch or TensorFlow and run them directly on laptops powered by Ryzen AI usin…”
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
- [community] “Own a framework desktop 128gb. GPU bandwidth limits the amount of tokens/sec that you get. I've mostly been running QWEN-3.6-35B-A3B at Q8 a…”
- [community] “I'm running qwen3.6, gpt-oss and embeddinggemma with Ollama on Ryzen 7 8700G + 96 GB DDR5 with 12-14 tokens/sec... On Strix Halo it will run…”
Memory io — stories about memory io in this arenaMemory io
Stories about memory io in this arena
Llm memory
ai-native userRun a large local LLM (70B-class, quantized) on this platform — enough addressable memory and published memory bandwidth to make local inference practical
weight 3 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Qualcomm publishes memory bandwidth (228 GB/s LPDDR5x) and an NPU TOPS figure, and points to an AI Hub/AI Engine Direct SDK for on-device model deployment, but the same spec page explicitly does not publish a max memory capacity figure, which is the critical constraint for whether a 70B-class quantized model can even fit in addressable memory. The product also hasn't shipped yet (2026 laptops), so no hands-on inference benchmarks exist to confirm practicality. Missing for 10: published max RAM capacity/config options, real-world 70B quantized inference benchmarks, independent corroboration of bandwidth/capacity claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Community hands-on reports confirm the platform (128GB unified memory) can actually run large quantized models like Qwen3.5-122B-A10B at Q4 and similar 35B+ models via llama.cpp, showing real-world feasibility of 70B-class local inference. However, users consistently note memory bandwidth is the limiting factor for tokens/sec, and no official AMD-published memory bandwidth spec appears in the evidence pack. Missing for 10: an official AMD-published memory bandwidth figure, first-party benchmarks for 70B-class models, and confirmation that performance is 'practical' (not just possible) at long context lengths.
- [community] “Own a framework desktop 128gb. GPU bandwidth limits the amount of tokens/sec that you get. I've mostly been running QWEN-3.6-35B-A3B at Q8 a…”
- [community] “I'm running qwen3.6, gpt-oss and embeddinggemma with Ollama on Ryzen 7 8700G + 96 GB DDR5 with 12-14 tokens/sec... On Strix Halo it will run…”
- [community] “With 128 GB of unified memory, large models can fit into memory, but memory bandwidth quickly becomes the limiting factor. With long context…”
Memory spec
developerSize memory-bound workloads from the vendor's own numbers — published memory type, capacity ceiling, and bandwidth (or spec detail complete enough to derive it)
weight 2 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeVendor publishes memory type (LPDDR5x) and bandwidth (up to 228 GB/s), letting a developer estimate bandwidth-bound workload sizing, but explicitly does not publish a max memory capacity figure, so capacity ceiling must be sourced elsewhere. missing for 10: published max memory capacity, machine-readable spec access (page requires JS rendering, no llms.txt/API).
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence pack includes AMD's spec page items but none cite memory type, capacity ceiling, or bandwidth figures (only TDP, NVMe, OS, and display specs are shown); community posts discuss bandwidth being a bottleneck qualitatively but no vendor numbers are cited to let a developer size workloads.
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Configurable TDP (cTDP) 45-120W”
- [claimed-docs] “Max Displays 4”
- [community] “Own a framework desktop 128gb. GPU bandwidth limits the amount of tokens/sec that you get. I've mostly been running QWEN-3.6-35B-A3B at Q8 a…”
- [community] “With 128 GB of unified memory, large models can fit into memory, but memory bandwidth quickly becomes the limiting factor. With long context…”
Platform upgrade — stories about platform upgrade in this arenaPlatform upgrade
Stories about platform upgrade in this arena
Platform io
developerThe platform has documented I/O headroom — PCIe generation and lanes, fast storage, and external connectivity specs I can plan a build or dock setup around
weight 2 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Snapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The evidence pack covers CPU cores/clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, but contains no mention whatsoever of PCIe generation/lanes, storage interface specs, or external connectivity (USB/Thunderbolt/display outputs) — the exact I/O headroom details the story asks for. The vendor spec page is even noted to be unreadable by non-browser fetchers, and the recorded 'gap' item only calls out missing TDP/process node/max-memory, not I/O specs at all.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
AMD's product page lists some I/O-adjacent specs (NVMe boot/RAID support, max 4 displays, OS support) but there is no documented PCIe generation or lane count, and no external connectivity specs (USB/Thunderbolt/dock) to plan a build around. missing for 10: PCIe generation, PCIe lane count, USB/Thunderbolt/external port specs, dock compatibility documentation.
- [claimed-docs] “NVMe Support Boot , RAID0 , RAID1”
- [claimed-docs] “Max Displays 4”
- [claimed-docs] “Windows 11 - 64-Bit Edition , RHEL x86 64-Bit , Ubuntu x86 64-Bit”
Socket longevity
power-userUpgrade the CPU without replacing the platform — a documented socket with a stated multi-generation support commitment
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence pack contains no mention of a socket, upgrade path, or multi-generation platform commitment for the Ryzen AI Max+ 395; all specs shown are TDP, display, storage, and OS support with no socket/upgrade language. Community citations also reference it in fixed-configuration devices (e.g., Framework Desktop, mini-PCs) rather than a socketed upgrade path. missing for 10: any documented socket name, generational upgrade commitment, or evidence of user-replaceable CPU in a motherboard.
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Configurable TDP (cTDP) 45-120W”
- [claimed-docs] “Max Displays 4”
- [community] “Own a framework desktop 128gb. GPU bandwidth limits the amount of tokens/sec that you get. I've mostly been running QWEN-3.6-35B-A3B at Q8 a…”
Power efficiency — stories about power efficiency in this arenaPower efficiency
Stories about power efficiency in this arena
Mobile endurance
power-userThis chip powers thin, quiet, all-day-battery machines — shipping in fanless or low-power designs with credible battery-life evidence
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No TDP/power envelope is published for the X2 Elite Extreme, no fanless-design OEM commitments are cited, and the chip has not yet shipped in any laptop (PCs due 2026), so there is no battery-life or thermal evidence for this specific product; the only battery-life praise in evidence is about the prior-gen X1 Plus, not this chip.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence pack shows a configurable TDP range of 45–120W and OS/platform specs, but contains no mention of fanless designs, thin-and-light chassis, or battery-life benchmarks; a community comment even complains AMD hasn't focused on reducing power usage. This is a fair axis for a laptop-class chip, but no supporting evidence exists.
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Configurable TDP (cTDP) 45-120W”
- [community] “The performance is incredible... Now when will AMD put some real effort in to reducing power usage?”
Perf per watt
creatorLong renders and exports don't throttle away — documented power envelopes and independent testing showing strong sustained performance per watt
weight 3 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Snapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10Qualcomm's own spec page explicitly does not publish a TDP/power envelope (left to OEMs), and the chip hasn't shipped yet (2026), so there is no independent sustained-performance/watt testing available; community evidence is limited to prior-gen (X1) impressions, not this chip.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
AMD documents a configurable TDP range (45-120W) for the chip, but there is no independent benchmark or hands-on testing demonstrating sustained performance-per-watt or absence of thermal throttling during long renders/exports; community comments focus on LLM token throughput and even note frustration that AMD hasn't addressed power usage. missing for 10: independent sustained-load/thermal throttling benchmarks, creator-workload (render/export) power efficiency data, cooling/chassis-specific real-world tests.
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Configurable TDP (cTDP) 45-120W”
- [community] “The performance is incredible... Now when will AMD put some real effort in to reducing power usage?”
- [community] “Terrible benchmarks. They should probably compare the 395 GPU against the 9950 CPU or against a 7600/9060. If you're just going to use the C…”
Spec transparency — stories about spec transparency in this arenaSpec transparency
Stories about spec transparency in this arena
Spec disclosure
power-userComparison-shop from a real spec sheet — the vendor publishes clocks, power, memory support, and AI TOPS with test conditions, instead of marketing adjectives
weight 2 · round to AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395Qualcomm publishes some concrete numbers (core counts, boost clocks, NPU TOPS, memory bandwidth) but the story asks for a full transparent spec sheet with test conditions, and the vendor page omits TDP/power envelope, process node, max memory capacity, and doesn't state precision/conditions for the 85 TOPS figure. Missing for 10: TDP/power figures, process node, max memory capacity, stated test conditions/precision for TOPS and clock claims, and independent verification of any of these numbers.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
AMD's product page does publish concrete spec-sheet items (cTDP 45-120W, NVMe RAID support, OS support, display counts, voltage offset support) rather than pure marketing prose, and the Ryzen AI docs give technical detail on the software stack. However, the pack contains no explicit clock-speed figures or AI TOPS number with stated test conditions, and community commentary explicitly complains that AMD's benchmark comparisons are misleading/incomplete rather than rigorously documented. missing for 10: published boost/base clock figures, an explicit AI TOPS figure with test-methodology footnotes, and independent verification that the spec sheet's numbers hold up under real-world testing.
- [claimed-docs] “AMD Configurable TDP (cTDP) 45-120W”
- [claimed-docs] “Curve Optimizer Voltage Offsets Yes”
- [claimed-docs] “NVMe Support Boot , RAID0 , RAID1”
- [claimed-docs] “Windows 11 - 64-Bit Edition , RHEL x86 64-Bit , Ubuntu x86 64-Bit”
- [claimed-docs] “Max Displays 4”
- [community] “Terrible benchmarks. They should probably compare the 395 GPU against the 9950 CPU or against a 7600/9060. If you're just going to use the C…”
- [community] “It would have been interesting to see the graphics performance and AI performance of the 395 compared to discrete gpus... how does it stack …”
Not comparable on these axes
ai-native userPlug MCP servers into this product so it can use their tools
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chipset product (CPU/NPU silicon), not a software agent or platform with an MCP client/server role; plugging MCP servers into it is a category error for a chip.
ai-native userConnect an agent via an official MCP server
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not an agent/software product that could plug into or serve an MCP server; this axis is a category error for a silicon SoC.
ai-native userUse an official CLI
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip/SoC product, not a software tool or platform that would ship an official CLI; the 'AI-native CLI' axis is a category error for a silicon product.
ai-native userIssue scoped/least-privilege API credentials for an agent
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip product, not a service or platform issuing API credentials for agents; scoped API credential management is not a fair axis for a CPU/NPU chip.
ai-native userSubscribe to events via webhooks
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (SoC); webhook event subscriptions are a software/service API concept that does not apply to a physical processor product category.
ai-native userGet AI-generated insights and suggestions from my data inside the product
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a chip/SoC platform, not an end-user application that holds 'my data' and surfaces insights; it only provides underlying NPU compute (TOPS) that OEM software might later use. This is a category error — the axis applies to data-centric software products, not silicon platforms.
ai-native userSet up automations that run autonomously in the background
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip platform, not a software/agent product; setting up autonomous background automations is a software application-layer capability outside the scope of a CPU/NPU silicon product's evidence pack.
ai-native userDelegate tasks to a built-in AI assistant inside the product
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a chipset/silicon platform, not a software product with a built-in AI assistant UI; it provides NPU hardware and SDKs for OEMs/developers to build AI features on top, but delegating tasks to an assistant is a wrong-axis question for a chip.
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395n/aAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 is a hardware processor/SoC with an AI development SDK for building and running models; it is not a product with a built-in end-user AI assistant to delegate tasks to. This axis applies to consumer assistant products/agents, not to a CPU/NPU platform whose evidence only covers developer tooling like ONNX Runtime, Quark quantization, and Lemonade SDK.
ai-native userExplore an interactive API reference with runnable examples
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (SoC), not an API/SDK service; an interactive API reference with runnable examples is a category error for a physical processor's product page — the axis does not apply.
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence shows static documentation pages (docs-1 through docs-4) and probes explicitly confirming no OpenAPI/swagger spec and no interactive API reference (probe-3 shows 404s for all candidate OpenAPI paths). There is no evidence of runnable examples or an interactive API explorer anywhere in the pack.
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/openapi.json, https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/swagger.json, https://ryzena…”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/en/latest/.md”
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
ai-native userDownload a machine-readable API spec (OpenAPI or equivalent)
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip product, not a web service or SaaS platform — there is no product API surface for which an OpenAPI/machine-readable spec would be a meaningful deliverable. The probes confirming no openapi.json exist are consistent with this being a wrong axis for a hardware product rather than a missing capability.
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10AMD's Ryzen AI docs describe C++/Python SDK APIs (ONNX Runtime, Vitis AI EP) but no machine-readable OpenAPI/Swagger spec was found; explicit probes to /openapi.json, /swagger.json, and similar paths all returned 404.
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/openapi.json, https://ryzenai.docs.amd.com/swagger.json, https://ryzena…”
- [claimed-docs] “The AI model is deployed using the ONNX Runtime with either C++ or Python APIs.”
ai-native userTest against a sandbox environment without touching production data
weight 1 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (CPU/NPU silicon); sandbox testing environments for AI agents are a software/platform concern, not applicable to a chipset's evidence pack.
ai-native userPerform bulk operations across many items at once
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not a software/automation tool; 'bulk operations across many items' is a software/workflow capability axis that doesn't apply to a CPU/NPU product itself.
ai-native userDefine rules that trigger actions automatically on events
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip platform, not an automation or workflow-rules product; defining event-triggered automation rules is a software/platform application-layer concern, not something a CPU/NPU chip itself provides.
ai-native userSchedule recurring jobs or workflows
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip (SoC) product, not a software platform or automation tool; scheduling recurring jobs/workflows is a software application capability entirely outside the scope of a chipset's evidence pack.
ai-native userVersion, review, and roll back my automations
weight 1 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not an automation/workflow platform; versioning, reviewing, and rolling back automations is a category error for this product type.
ai-native userDo everything through the API that I can do in the UI
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a physical hardware chip product, not a software/UI application with an API/UI parity concept — the axis is a category error for a CPU/NPU silicon product.
ai-native userExport all of my data in open formats and leave
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip (SoC) product, not a data-holding service or application; there is no user data or account to export in open formats. Data export/portability is a category error for a CPU/NPU component.
ai-native userRead the product's source under an open license
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a proprietary hardware chip product; source-code openness is a category error for a physical silicon SoC, not an applicable axis.
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The product is a proprietary AMD CPU/APU design; while some accompanying SDKs (Lemonade, ONNX EP) are noted as open-source, there is no evidence that the chip's own source/design (microarchitecture, RTL, etc.) is available under any open license. The axis is fair to ask (some hardware vendors do open designs) but no evidence supports it here.
- [claimed-docs] “the Lemonade SDK, which is multi-vendor open-source software that provides everything necessary for quickly getting started with LLMs on OGA…”
ai-native userSelf-host the core product
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a physical CPU/NPU chip sold to OEMs for laptops, not a hosted service or software product that could be 'self-hosted'; self-hosting is a category error for a silicon product.
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395n/aThe Ryzen AI Max+ 395 is a physical CPU/APU, not a software service or platform with a hosted vs. self-hosted deployment choice — 'self-hosting the core product' is a category error for silicon hardware, which is inherently run on the owner's own machine by nature rather than as a deployment option.
ai-native userChoose where my data is stored (region/residency)
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip (CPU/NPU) for laptops, not a cloud/data-hosting service; data residency/region storage choice is not an applicable axis for a silicon product.
ai-native userPrevent my data from being used to train AI models
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip/SoC, not a service or platform that trains AI models on user data; a data-training opt-out policy is a category error for this product type.
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395none0/10The evidence describes local on-device AI inference (NPU, ONNX Runtime, local LLM execution via llama.cpp/Ollama) but contains no explicit statement about data-training opt-outs or privacy guarantees regarding model training; while local processing implies data doesn't leave the device, no documentation or claim addresses this story directly.
ai-native userControl data retention and deletion
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset (CPU/NPU platform), not a data service or application that retains user data; data retention/deletion controls are a software/SaaS privacy axis, not applicable to a silicon product.
ai-native userOpt out of telemetry and usage tracking
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chipset product (SoC), not a software/service with telemetry or usage-tracking settings; opt-out of telemetry is a category error for a silicon platform spec.