Snapdragon X2 Elite Extreme vs Intel Core Ultra 9 285K
Intel Core Ultra 9 285K wins · 3–11 (6 drawn)
Agenticness — how well agents can access and operate the productAgenticness
How well agents can access and operate the product
Agent access
ai-native userPoint an agent at llms.txt or agent-oriented docs
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10Probes show no llms.txt (404), no docs-md, no OpenAPI spec, and the vendor page itself is unreadable to non-browser agents (JS-only shell). This is a hardware chip product, not a docs/API provider, but no agent-oriented documentation infrastructure exists.
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/llms.txt”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
Intel's corporate site does serve a machine-fetchable llms.txt (confirmed via probe returning HTTP 200 with a short company description), so an agent could be pointed at it, but the snippet is generic corporate boilerplate with no product-specific or agent-oriented documentation for the Core Ultra 9 285K itself, and no openapi/agent API endpoints were found. missing for 10: richer llms.txt content tailored to product docs, presence of llms-full.txt or structured agent-facing spec docs, independent confirmation the file is kept current.
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 200 at https://www.intel.com/llms.txt # Intel Corporation > Intel is a global technology company delivering AI compute…”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.intel.com/openapi.json, https://www.intel.com/swagger.json, https://www.intel.com/api/op…”
ai-native userRun the product headlessly / in CI for automation
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
ai-native userDrive the product through a documented public API
weight 3 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
ai-native userBuild against official SDKs
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KQualcomm's developer portal explicitly references official SDKs (AI Engine Direct SDK) and Qualcomm AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU on Snapdragon X-series chips, giving a genuine AI-native building surface. However, the evidence is a single high-level mention with no code samples, API references, or independent developer corroboration, and probes show no machine-readable docs (llms.txt, openapi) or accessible spec pages without a browser. Missing for 10: detailed SDK documentation/examples, independent developer reports of building against these SDKs, and machine-readable API references.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [probe] “PROBE llms.txt: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/llms.txt”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
Intel documents official SDKs and toolkits (oneAPI, oneDNN, DPC++ Compatibility Tool, VTune Profiler) and lists supported AI frameworks (OpenVINO, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN) for the Core Ultra platform, which an AI-native developer could build against. However, this evidence is generic to the Core Ultra line rather than specific hands-on validation for the 285K, and there's no independent corroboration of developer experience with these SDKs. missing for 10: independent/hands-on validation of SDK usability, concrete code examples or developer testimonials, and confirmation these tools are specifically exercised on the 285K rather than just documented for the broader Core Ultra family.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
- [claimed-docs] “Intel® DPC++ Compatibility Tool for CUDA-to-SYCL migration”
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
Agentic features
ai-native userOperate the product with natural-language commands
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
Marketing copy claims 'voice commands to get answers, edit content, and turn ideas into reality,' suggesting some natural-language interaction on Core Ultra platforms, but this is a single vague marketing line with no product specifics, no named assistant, and no hands-on corroboration. Missing for 10: concrete details on which software/assistant enables this, independent verification it works as described, and evidence of broader NL command support beyond voice.
- [claimed-docs] “Use voice commands to get answers, edit content, and turn ideas into reality.”
Compute performance — stories about compute performance in this arenaCompute performance
Stories about compute performance in this arena
Heavy compute
developerCompile big codebases and run heavy parallel jobs fast — documented core counts and boost behavior, corroborated by independent multi-core benchmarks
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KCore counts (18-core, 12 Prime + 6 Performance) and boost clocks (up to 5.0GHz Extreme) are documented on Qualcomm's vendor spec page, giving developers concrete compute specs. However, since the chip is unreleased (PCs ship 2026), there are no independent multi-core benchmarks corroborating real-world compiling/parallel-job performance — only unrelated community remarks about the prior-gen X1 Plus and touchpad design. missing for 10: independent multi-core/compile benchmarks, hands-on developer performance reports, TDP/power figures needed to contextualize boost sustainability.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel's ARK spec page (confirmed live via probe) documents core counts and boost clocks, and independent reviews (Tom's Hardware, Phoronix, HN discussion) corroborate strong multi-threaded productivity performance versus its predecessor, supporting compile/parallel-job workloads. However, the same independent sources show AMD's 9950X ahead in raw multi-core performance/perf-per-watt, and Phoronix reports real compiler segfaults tied to non-rated RAM speeds — a concrete caveat for compiling workloads. missing for 10: explicit quoted core-count/boost-clock figures in the evidence pack itself, quantitative independent multi-core benchmark numbers (only qualitative 'productivity performance' claims), and confirmation the RAM-related compiler stability issue is fully resolved across configurations.
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): Intel's ARK specifications page for the Core Ultra 9 285K answered a keyless curl and names the part — …”
- [community] “Intel's Core Ultra 9 285K makes strong gains in productivity workloads, but it struggles to match its prior-gen counterpart in gaming perfor…”
- [community] “Pros: Productivity performance, Power consumption and efficiency, Support for CUDIMM memory, Relaxed cooling requirements, Higher memory OC …”
- [community] “Compared to its predecessor, 14900K, it ends up both faster (barring some outliers) and significantly more power efficient. Compared to Zen …”
- [community] “When running with Corsair DDR5-8000 DIMMs, I was encountering compiler segmentation faults occasionally... With some DDR5-6000 DIMMs I also …”
- [community] “So, very, very similar to the 9950X score (100.x%)... But without AVX512 and possibly much higher power consumption.”
Single thread
power-userEveryday interactive work feels instant — leading single-thread performance shown in independent benchmarks, not just a peak-GHz number on a slide
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No independent single-thread benchmarks are present anywhere in the evidence pack; all performance claims are vendor peak-GHz/TOPS figures from a spec page, and the chip hasn't even shipped yet (2026 launch), so third-party validation is impossible at this time. Community comments only cover battery/touchpad, not single-thread performance.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kdisputedcontradicted4/10Intel markets the 285K on flashy specs and AI/creative workloads, but independent reviews show single-thread/gaming performance actually regressed vs the prior-gen 14900K and lags AMD's 9950X/7800X3D, with Windows-specific single-threaded performance issues reported at launch. missing for 10: independent benchmark data showing leading single-thread performance, resolution of the documented single-thread/gaming regressions, third-party corroboration of 'instant' interactive responsiveness.
- [claimed-docs] “Find your flow state. It’s even easier to create, edit and render with the programs you love, on a platform you already know.”
- [community] “Intel's Core Ultra 9 285K makes strong gains in productivity workloads, but it struggles to match its prior-gen counterpart in gaming perfor…”
- [community] “Compared to its predecessor, 14900K, it ends up both faster (barring some outliers) and significantly more power efficient. Compared to Zen …”
- [community] “In Windows reviews, 285K's performance is even worse, particularly in gaming tests where it is slower than 14900K and 7800X3D... 'When pairi…”
- [community] “Arrow lake has had quite a messy launch on Windows. Intel, Microsoft, and motherboard makers have made a few changes to prevent crashes and …”
Dev experience — day-to-day developer experience — setup friction, docs, debugging, iteration speedDev experience
Day-to-day developer experience — setup friction, docs, debugging, iteration speed
Toolchain
developerThis architecture is a first-class development target — mature compilers, official optimization guidance, and an OS and tooling ecosystem that treats it as tier one
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KQualcomm's developer portal documents Arm-native Windows toolchains, an AI Engine Direct SDK and AI Hub for the Hexagon NPU, showing some official dev-tooling investment, and one community report praises legacy software compatibility on a prior-gen Snapdragon laptop. But there's no evidence of compiler maturity specifics, no independent corroboration that Windows-on-Arm is treated as a tier-one target by the broader toolchain ecosystem (e.g. major compilers, cross-platform SDKs), and the chip itself hasn't shipped yet (2026 availability). missing for 10: independent evidence of mature/optimized compiler support, third-party tooling parity confirmation, hands-on developer experience reports on the actual X2 Elite hardware.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel provides substantive official developer tooling (oneAPI, VTune Profiler, DPC++ CUDA-to-SYCL migration, oneDNN/PyTorch optimizations, OpenVINO/DirectML/ONNX support) suggesting tier-one treatment for AI/HPC workloads. However, community evidence shows real platform-maturity friction: compiler segmentation faults tied to memory configuration, a 'messy' Arrow Lake Windows launch requiring OS/firmware fixes, and reports of severe performance regressions on newer Windows builds — undermining the 'mature, tier-one, no caveats' framing. Missing for 10: independent benchmarks confirming stable toolchain behavior across compilers (GCC/MSVC/LLVM) without workarounds, evidence of Linux distro-level tier-one support, and resolution confirmation for the reported crashes/perf regressions.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
- [claimed-docs] “Intel® DPC++ Compatibility Tool for CUDA-to-SYCL migration”
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
- [community] “When running with Corsair DDR5-8000 DIMMs, I was encountering compiler segmentation faults occasionally... With some DDR5-6000 DIMMs I also …”
- [community] “Arrow lake has had quite a messy launch on Windows. Intel, Microsoft, and motherboard makers have made a few changes to prevent crashes and …”
- [community] “In Windows reviews, 285K's performance is even worse, particularly in gaming tests where it is slower than 14900K and 7800X3D... 'When pairi…”
Virtualization
developerVMs and containers run well on this silicon — documented virtualization support and mainstream hypervisor and Docker workflows
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No evidence addresses virtualization support, hypervisor compatibility, or Docker/container workflows on Snapdragon X2 Elite Extreme silicon; developer materials cited only cover Windows-on-Arm native toolchains and NPU SDKs, not VM/container tooling. This is a fair axis for developer silicon, so absence of any supporting evidence yields none, not na.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Knone0/10The evidence pack contains no documentation of VT-x/VT-d virtualization extensions, hypervisor compatibility (Hyper-V, KVM, VMware), or container/Docker workflows for the 285K — only general AI/gaming/creator marketing, vPro and ECC specs, and community performance reviews unrelated to virtualization.
Gaming media — stories about gaming media in this arenaGaming media
Stories about gaming media in this arena
Gaming fps
gamerThis chip drives high frame rates in real games — vendor gaming claims (cache, boost behavior, integrated GPU class) corroborated by independent game benchmarks
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No GPU specifications, gaming performance claims, or independent game benchmarks appear anywhere in the evidence pack — the vendor page only covers CPU core count/boost clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, with no mention of integrated GPU class or gaming behavior. The one community comment (about the prior-gen X1 Plus) even suggests gaming is a weak point ('best version of Windows if you don't game'), and the product hasn't shipped yet so no independent game benchmarks exist. Missing for 10: GPU/Adreno specs, vendor gaming performance claims, and any independent game benchmark data.
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kdisputedcontradicted3/10Intel's marketing touts smooth FPS and GPU-class gaming features, but independent reviews directly contradict this for the 285K desktop chip: Tom's Hardware reports 'generational regression in gaming performance' making it worse than the prior-gen 14900K and worse value than AMD, and HN citations confirm it trails both the 14900K and 7800X3D in gaming benchmarks, with some Windows configs seeing 50% FPS drops. Missing for 10: any vendor-cited gaming benchmark specific to the 285K, and any independent benchmark showing it competitively winning frame-rate comparisons.
- [community] “Intel's Core Ultra 9 285K makes strong gains in productivity workloads, but it struggles to match its prior-gen counterpart in gaming perfor…”
- [community] “Pros: Productivity performance, Power consumption and efficiency, Support for CUDIMM memory, Relaxed cooling requirements, Higher memory OC …”
- [community] “In Windows reviews, 285K's performance is even worse, particularly in gaming tests where it is slower than 14900K and 7800X3D... 'When pairi…”
- [claimed-docs] “More GPU performance from Intel® Arc™ graphics and AI-enhanced gameplay with Intel® XeSS 3 give you ultra-smooth FPS on the go.”
Media engines
creatorHardware media engines carry my editing and streaming — documented hardware encode and decode (AV1, HEVC, ProRes-class) on the chip itself
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The evidence pack covers CPU cores/clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, but contains no mention of media/video engines, hardware AV1/HEVC encode-decode, or ProRes-class support anywhere in the vendor docs or community commentary. missing for 10: any documented hardware video encode/decode engine specs, codec support list (AV1/HEVC/ProRes), or streaming/editing performance claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel's marketing mentions an integrated 'Xe Media Engine' enabling simultaneous play/stream/edit with 'sharp, high-def video' and general Arc graphics support for editing/rendering, but the evidence pack never names specific codec support (AV1, HEVC, ProRes-class) for encode/decode on this chip. missing for 10: explicit documentation of AV1/HEVC hardware encode+decode, ProRes support, and any independent benchmark/hands-on verification of media engine performance.
- [claimed-docs] “Play, stream, and edit, all at once. Intel Xe Media Engine delivers sharp, high-def video without compromising game graphics.”
- [claimed-docs] “Tackle 3D models, long edits, and heavy exports with Intel® Arc™ graphics, even unplugged and on-the-go.”
- [claimed-docs] “With 50% more graphics cores on select SKUs, you get the speed to game, stream and edit media with crisp visuals”
Local ai — stories about local ai in this arenaLocal ai
Stories about local ai in this arena
Npu sdk
ai-native userThe chip's AI acceleration is exposed to developers — an NPU or neural engine with a published TOPS figure (precision stated) and an official SDK or runtime that ships today
weight 3 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeQualcomm publishes an NPU TOPS figure (85 TOPS) and points to an AI Engine Direct SDK / AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU, but the precision for the TOPS figure is explicitly not stated, and the X2 Elite Extreme chip itself has not shipped (announced Sept 2025, PCs due 2026), so the 'ships today' condition is unmet for this specific chip. missing for 10: precision spec for the TOPS number, evidence the SDK/runtime targets this specific chip today rather than prior-gen Snapdragon X, and independent developer corroboration of SDK functionality.
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Knone0/10The evidence pack contains no published TOPS figure for an NPU on the desktop 285K itself — the official spec page lists AI frameworks 'Supported by CPU' only (OpenVINO, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN), with no NPU TOPS number or dedicated NPU spec line, and generic oneAPI/VTune mentions of 'NPUs from Intel' are not tied to this specific SKU's hardware spec.
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
- [claimed-docs] “Optimize performance on client GPUs and NPUs from Intel with new analysis tool features in Intel® VTune™ Profiler.”
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
Runtime support
developerMainstream local-AI runtimes target this silicon — llama.cpp, MLX, ONNX Runtime, or the vendor's own AI software stack document support for its CPU, GPU, or NPU
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KQualcomm's own developer portal documents AI Engine Direct SDK and Qualcomm AI Hub for deploying models to the Hexagon NPU on Snapdragon X-series chips, showing vendor-stack support, but there is no evidence that mainstream runtimes like llama.cpp, MLX, or ONNX Runtime explicitly document support for this specific new silicon (X2 Elite Extreme), and the product hasn't shipped yet (2026). missing for 10: explicit llama.cpp/MLX/ONNX Runtime support statements for X2 Elite Extreme, independent hands-on confirmation of NPU/GPU acceleration, and evidence the AI Hub tooling actually targets this exact chip post-launch.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
Intel's own spec page explicitly lists AI software frameworks supported by the CPU—OpenVINO, ONNX Runtime, DirectML, WindowsML, WebNN—and Intel's developer docs describe oneAPI/oneDNN and PyTorch optimizations tuned for Core Ultra processors and Arc GPUs, directly naming mainstream local-AI runtimes as supported. Missing for 10: explicit llama.cpp/MLX mention, and independent hands-on confirmation that these runtimes actually run well on the 285K specifically (reviews focus on gaming/productivity benchmarks, not AI runtime performance).
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
Memory io — stories about memory io in this arenaMemory io
Stories about memory io in this arena
Llm memory
ai-native userRun a large local LLM (70B-class, quantized) on this platform — enough addressable memory and published memory bandwidth to make local inference practical
weight 3 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeQualcomm publishes memory bandwidth (228 GB/s LPDDR5x) and an NPU TOPS figure, and points to an AI Hub/AI Engine Direct SDK for on-device model deployment, but the same spec page explicitly does not publish a max memory capacity figure, which is the critical constraint for whether a 70B-class quantized model can even fit in addressable memory. The product also hasn't shipped yet (2026 laptops), so no hands-on inference benchmarks exist to confirm practicality. Missing for 10: published max RAM capacity/config options, real-world 70B quantized inference benchmarks, independent corroboration of bandwidth/capacity claims.
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Knone0/10Evidence shows generic 'AI PC' and LLM-tooling marketing (oneDNN/PyTorch optimizations, OpenVINO support) but no published memory bandwidth figures, no addressable-memory/capacity specs, and no benchmarks or claims about running 70B-class quantized models; the CPU is a desktop chip relying on dual-channel DDR5 which is not evidenced as sufficient for practical 70B inference. Missing for 10: memory bandwidth specs, evidence of large-model (70B) local inference support, capacity/quantization guidance, and any hands-on corroboration of local large-LLM performance.
- [claimed-docs] “Maximize AI PC inference capabilities from large language models (LLM) to image generation with Intel® oneAPI Deep Neural Network Library (o…”
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
Memory spec
developerSize memory-bound workloads from the vendor's own numbers — published memory type, capacity ceiling, and bandwidth (or spec detail complete enough to derive it)
weight 2 · round to Snapdragon X2 Elite ExtremeVendor publishes memory type (LPDDR5x) and bandwidth (up to 228 GB/s), letting a developer estimate bandwidth-bound workload sizing, but explicitly does not publish a max memory capacity figure, so capacity ceiling must be sourced elsewhere. missing for 10: published max memory capacity, machine-readable spec access (page requires JS rendering, no llms.txt/API).
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
Evidence shows ECC memory support and vPro details from Intel's ARK spec page, and community reports confirm a rated DDR5 speed (DDR5-6400) and CUDIMM support, but no explicit vendor-published memory capacity ceiling or bandwidth figures are quoted in the pack. The probe confirms ARK has a 'machine-fetchable spec sheet' including memory support, but the actual numbers aren't captured here. missing for 10: explicit max memory capacity (GB), number of channels, and bandwidth (GB/s) figures from vendor docs.
- [claimed-docs] “ECC Memory Supported ‡ Yes”
- [community] “When running with Corsair DDR5-8000 DIMMs, I was encountering compiler segmentation faults occasionally... With some DDR5-6000 DIMMs I also …”
- [community] “Pros: Productivity performance, Power consumption and efficiency, Support for CUDIMM memory, Relaxed cooling requirements, Higher memory OC …”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): Intel's ARK specifications page for the Core Ultra 9 285K answered a keyless curl and names the part — …”
Platform upgrade — stories about platform upgrade in this arenaPlatform upgrade
Stories about platform upgrade in this arena
Platform io
developerThe platform has documented I/O headroom — PCIe generation and lanes, fast storage, and external connectivity specs I can plan a build or dock setup around
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The evidence pack covers CPU cores/clocks, NPU TOPS, and memory bandwidth, but contains no mention whatsoever of PCIe generation/lanes, storage interface specs, or external connectivity (USB/Thunderbolt/display outputs) — the exact I/O headroom details the story asks for. The vendor spec page is even noted to be unreadable by non-browser fetchers, and the recorded 'gap' item only calls out missing TDP/process node/max-memory, not I/O specs at all.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): a keyless curl of Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page returns a client-rendered app shell whose vi…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Knone0/10The evidence pack contains no specifics on PCIe generation/lane counts, storage interface support, or external connectivity (USB/Thunderbolt) specs for the 285K platform — only marketing copy, memory/vPro/ECC details, and Linux/Windows performance reports. This axis clearly applies to a desktop CPU/platform story, but no documentation of I/O headroom is present, so it cannot be credited. Missing for 10: PCIe lane/generation breakdown, storage (M.2/NVMe) specs, USB/Thunderbolt connectivity details, chipset I/O documentation.
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
- [claimed-docs] “ECC Memory Supported ‡ Yes”
- [claimed-docs] “Intel vPro® Eligibility ‡ Intel vPro® Enterprise”
Socket longevity
power-userUpgrade the CPU without replacing the platform — a documented socket with a stated multi-generation support commitment
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10The axis applies to this product kind (peer products hold positive or none verdicts on this story), so lack of evidence for an applicable capability is "none", never "na". (na/none harmonized at arena bring-up — see pipeline/scripts/na-harmonize.ts.)
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Knone0/10The evidence pack contains no mention of the CPU's socket (LGA1851) or any stated multi-generation upgrade commitment; specs pages cover cache/clocks/vPro/ECC but not platform longevity. This axis clearly applies to a desktop CPU purchase decision, but no documentation here confirms or denies a multi-gen socket promise.
Power efficiency — stories about power efficiency in this arenaPower efficiency
Stories about power efficiency in this arena
Mobile endurance
power-userThis chip powers thin, quiet, all-day-battery machines — shipping in fanless or low-power designs with credible battery-life evidence
weight 2 · round drawnSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10No TDP/power envelope is published for the X2 Elite Extreme, no fanless-design OEM commitments are cited, and the chip has not yet shipped in any laptop (PCs due 2026), so there is no battery-life or thermal evidence for this specific product; the only battery-life praise in evidence is about the prior-gen X1 Plus, not this chip.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
- [community] “I already love my Snapdragon X1 Plus laptop... It really is the best version of Windows if you don't game: the performance is great, no issu…”
Perf per watt
creatorLong renders and exports don't throttle away — documented power envelopes and independent testing showing strong sustained performance per watt
weight 3 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10Qualcomm's own spec page explicitly does not publish a TDP/power envelope (left to OEMs), and the chip hasn't shipped yet (2026), so there is no independent sustained-performance/watt testing available; community evidence is limited to prior-gen (X1) impressions, not this chip.
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
- [claimed-docs] “Availability, per vendor announcement: Snapdragon X2 Elite and X2 Elite Extreme were announced September 2025 at Snapdragon Summit; PCs ship…”
Independent reviews (Tom's Hardware) confirm the 285K delivers strong productivity/rendering gains with improved power consumption and efficiency versus its 14900K predecessor, and Intel's spec pages document power envelopes (base/turbo power). However, the same reviews note it trails AMD's 9950X in raw perf-per-watt, and no evidence specifically tests sustained long-render/export thermal throttling behavior. Missing for 10: dedicated sustained-load/throttling benchmarks over long export durations, explicit perf-per-watt superiority claims corroborated independently, and creator-specific workload power testing.
- [community] “Intel's Core Ultra 9 285K makes strong gains in productivity workloads, but it struggles to match its prior-gen counterpart in gaming perfor…”
- [community] “Pros: Productivity performance, Power consumption and efficiency, Support for CUDIMM memory, Relaxed cooling requirements, Higher memory OC …”
- [community] “Compared to its predecessor, 14900K, it ends up both faster (barring some outliers) and significantly more power efficient. Compared to Zen …”
- [claimed-docs] “ECC Memory Supported ‡ Yes”
Spec transparency — stories about spec transparency in this arenaSpec transparency
Stories about spec transparency in this arena
Spec disclosure
power-userComparison-shop from a real spec sheet — the vendor publishes clocks, power, memory support, and AI TOPS with test conditions, instead of marketing adjectives
weight 2 · round to Intel Core Ultra 9 285KQualcomm publishes some concrete numbers (core counts, boost clocks, NPU TOPS, memory bandwidth) but the story asks for a full transparent spec sheet with test conditions, and the vendor page omits TDP/power envelope, process node, max memory capacity, and doesn't state precision/conditions for the 85 TOPS figure. Missing for 10: TDP/power figures, process node, max memory capacity, stated test conditions/precision for TOPS and clock claims, and independent verification of any of these numbers.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 Elite spec page (verified via rendered browser fetch — the page is a client-rendered app and serves only a JS shell…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: Hexagon NPU rated at up to 85 TOPS (vendor figure, precision not stated on the page) — Qualcomm positions Snapdragon X2 El…”
- [claimed-docs] “Vendor spec page: up to 228 GB/s LPDDR5x memory bandwidth, as stated by Qualcomm.”
- [claimed-docs] “Spec-disclosure gap, recorded as-is: Qualcomm does not publish a TDP/power figure on the X2 Elite spec page (power envelopes are left to lap…”
Intel's ARK specifications page (and the runtime probe) confirms a machine-fetchable spec sheet listing clocks, cache, ECC support, vPro eligibility, and supported AI frameworks (OpenVINO, DirectML, ONNX RT), giving power-users concrete comparable data beyond marketing language. However, the evidence pack lacks explicit AI TOPS figures with stated test conditions, detailed base/turbo power figures, or memory speed/latency specs with test methodology, and much of the docs pack is marketing copy rather than spec data. missing for 10: explicit AI TOPS numbers with test conditions, full power/TDP breakdown, independent verification of spec accuracy.
- [claimed-docs] “AI Software Frameworks Supported by CPU OpenVINO™, WindowsML, DirectML, ONNX RT, WebNN”
- [claimed-docs] “ECC Memory Supported ‡ Yes”
- [claimed-docs] “Intel vPro® Eligibility ‡ Intel vPro® Enterprise”
- [probe] “PROBE runtime (recorded 2026-09-15): Intel's ARK specifications page for the Core Ultra 9 285K answered a keyless curl and names the part — …”
Not comparable on these axes
ai-native userPlug MCP servers into this product so it can use their tools
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chipset product (CPU/NPU silicon), not a software agent or platform with an MCP client/server role; plugging MCP servers into it is a category error for a chip.
ai-native userConnect an agent via an official MCP server
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not an agent/software product that could plug into or serve an MCP server; this axis is a category error for a silicon SoC.
ai-native userUse an official CLI
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip/SoC product, not a software tool or platform that would ship an official CLI; the 'AI-native CLI' axis is a category error for a silicon product.
ai-native userIssue scoped/least-privilege API credentials for an agent
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip product, not a service or platform issuing API credentials for agents; scoped API credential management is not a fair axis for a CPU/NPU chip.
ai-native userSubscribe to events via webhooks
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (SoC); webhook event subscriptions are a software/service API concept that does not apply to a physical processor product category.
ai-native userGet AI-generated insights and suggestions from my data inside the product
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a chip/SoC platform, not an end-user application that holds 'my data' and surfaces insights; it only provides underlying NPU compute (TOPS) that OEM software might later use. This is a category error — the axis applies to data-centric software products, not silicon platforms.
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kn/aThis is a CPU hardware product, not an application or platform that itself surfaces AI-generated insights from user data; it provides underlying compute/frameworks (oneDNN, OpenVINO) for other software to build such features, but the CPU itself does not deliver in-product insights/suggestions. This is a wrong-axis question for a processor SKU.
ai-native userSet up automations that run autonomously in the background
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip platform, not a software/agent product; setting up autonomous background automations is a software application-layer capability outside the scope of a CPU/NPU silicon product's evidence pack.
ai-native userDelegate tasks to a built-in AI assistant inside the product
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a chipset/silicon platform, not a software product with a built-in AI assistant UI; it provides NPU hardware and SDKs for OEMs/developers to build AI features on top, but delegating tasks to an assistant is a wrong-axis question for a chip.
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kn/aA CPU is hardware, not an application with a built-in AI assistant/agent that can accept delegated tasks; this axis is a category error for a processor product. Voice command mentions refer to third-party software features enabled by the platform, not a built-in assistant shipped by Intel.
ai-native userExplore an interactive API reference with runnable examples
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (SoC), not an API/SDK service; an interactive API reference with runnable examples is a category error for a physical processor's product page — the axis does not apply.
ai-native userDownload a machine-readable API spec (OpenAPI or equivalent)
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip product, not a web service or SaaS platform — there is no product API surface for which an OpenAPI/machine-readable spec would be a meaningful deliverable. The probes confirming no openapi.json exist are consistent with this being a wrong axis for a hardware product rather than a missing capability.
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kn/aThis is a physical CPU product, not an API/service; a machine-readable OpenAPI spec is a category error for this axis. The probe confirms no OpenAPI endpoint exists, but that's expected since Intel's website is not the product itself.
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.intel.com/openapi.json, https://www.intel.com/swagger.json, https://www.intel.com/api/op…”
ai-native userTest against a sandbox environment without touching production data
weight 1 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip product (CPU/NPU silicon); sandbox testing environments for AI agents are a software/platform concern, not applicable to a chipset's evidence pack.
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kn/aThis story concerns sandboxed test environments isolated from production data, which is a software/platform capability, not something a CPU product ships. The evidence pack covers hardware specs, gaming/creative performance, and developer tools like oneAPI, none of which relate to sandbox testing environments.
ai-native userRely on versioned APIs with a documented deprecation policy
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremenone0/10While Qualcomm offers developer SDKs (AI Engine Direct SDK, AI Hub) that could in principle have API versioning policies, no evidence in the pack shows any versioned API, changelog, or deprecation policy documentation; probes for OpenAPI specs and machine-readable docs all 404.
- [claimed-docs] “Qualcomm's developer portal covers Windows on Snapdragon development: Arm-native Windows toolchains, the Qualcomm AI Engine Direct SDK, and …”
- [probe] “PROBE openapi: all candidate paths 404 (https://www.qualcomm.com/openapi.json, https://www.qualcomm.com/swagger.json, https://www.qualcomm.c…”
- [probe] “PROBE docs-md: HTTP 404 at https://www.qualcomm.com/developer.md”
ai-native userPerform bulk operations across many items at once
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not a software/automation tool; 'bulk operations across many items' is a software/workflow capability axis that doesn't apply to a CPU/NPU product itself.
ai-native userDefine rules that trigger actions automatically on events
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware SoC/chip platform, not an automation or workflow-rules product; defining event-triggered automation rules is a software/platform application-layer concern, not something a CPU/NPU chip itself provides.
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kn/aThis story concerns defining automation rules/triggers, which is a software/platform capability, not something a CPU hardware product ships. The Core Ultra 9 285K is a processor with no rule-engine or event-trigger feature—this axis is a category error for a hardware SKU.
ai-native userSchedule recurring jobs or workflows
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip (SoC) product, not a software platform or automation tool; scheduling recurring jobs/workflows is a software application capability entirely outside the scope of a chipset's evidence pack.
ai-native userVersion, review, and roll back my automations
weight 1 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset, not an automation/workflow platform; versioning, reviewing, and rolling back automations is a category error for this product type.
ai-native userDo everything through the API that I can do in the UI
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a physical hardware chip product, not a software/UI application with an API/UI parity concept — the axis is a category error for a CPU/NPU silicon product.
ai-native userExport all of my data in open formats and leave
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chip (SoC) product, not a data-holding service or application; there is no user data or account to export in open formats. Data export/portability is a category error for a CPU/NPU component.
ai-native userRead the product's source under an open license
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a proprietary hardware chip product; source-code openness is a category error for a physical silicon SoC, not an applicable axis.
ai-native userSelf-host the core product
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a physical CPU/NPU chip sold to OEMs for laptops, not a hosted service or software product that could be 'self-hosted'; self-hosting is a category error for a silicon product.
ai-native userChoose where my data is stored (region/residency)
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip (CPU/NPU) for laptops, not a cloud/data-hosting service; data residency/region storage choice is not an applicable axis for a silicon product.
ai-native userPrevent my data from being used to train AI models
weight 3 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chip/SoC, not a service or platform that trains AI models on user data; a data-training opt-out policy is a category error for this product type.
Intel Core Ultra 9 285Kn/aA CPU is hardware, not a data-processing service or AI model provider; controlling whether user data is used for AI training is a data-governance/privacy-policy axis that applies to cloud/SaaS/AI-service products, not to a silicon component. This axis is a category error for a processor product.
ai-native userControl data retention and deletion
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aSnapdragon X2 Elite Extreme is a hardware chipset (CPU/NPU platform), not a data service or application that retains user data; data retention/deletion controls are a software/SaaS privacy axis, not applicable to a silicon product.
ai-native userOpt out of telemetry and usage tracking
weight 2 · not comparableSnapdragon X2 Elite Extremen/aThis is a hardware chipset product (SoC), not a software/service with telemetry or usage-tracking settings; opt-out of telemetry is a category error for a silicon platform spec.